Skip to primary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer
This page is part of the 2012 FESTIVAL ARCHIVE.
Visit the current Melbourne Writers Festival website for details of the next festival.

Festival Program

Melbourne Writers Festival is a home for stories and storytellers, for writers and readers: a destination for the curious-minded. And this is what we invite you to do – to be curious, to revel in matters of the mind and heart, to delight in thinking not just of your favourite writers, but also of those new to you.

So enjoy the ideas and stories on offer, engage and be entertained. This festival is about questioning our place in the world, as men and women; as lovers, friends and partners; as workers and ‘economic units’, and as global citizens.

Our program addresses questions about liberty and responsibility; it takes inspiration from beautifully told stories; it listens to startling newcomers and intellectual heavyweights; it revels in literary coups and writerly gossip; and it celebrates words and language and hence, life.

Click here to download a PDF of the Melbourne Writers Festival Program Guide 2012 (PDF 6MB)     

Program by category

  • Big Ideas
  • The New Yorker
  • Art
  • Australian Stories
  • Fiction & Poetry
  • Food, Wine & Walks
  • For Children & Families
  • History, Science & Current Affairs
  • Journalism & Creative Non-fiction
  • Music Performance
  • Philosophy & Ethics
  • Professional Development

 

Program by date

  • Thursday 23 August
  • Friday 24th August
  • Saturday 25th August
  • Sunday 26th August
  • Monday 27th August
  • Tuesday 28th August
  • Wednesday 29th August
  • Thursday 30th August
  • Friday 31th August
  • Saturday 1st September
  • Sunday 2nd September

 

Program by writer

View a comprehensive listing of our attending authors for 2012.

Find an event


Can't decide?
Try our concierge service.

Melbourne Writers Festival, 25 Aug 2011 - 04 Sept 2011
Level 1, 176 Lt Lonsdale Street, The Wheeler Centre, Melbourne VIC 3000
Box Office: +61 (0)3 9999 1199, T: +61 (0)3 9094 7859, F: +61 (0)3 9650 6467
admin@mwf.com.au

Printed from: http://www.mwf.com.au/2012/?name=Program-sub